Home > Uncategorized > The Greatest Possible Amount

The Greatest Possible Amount

You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart…Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (Deuteronomy 6:5-6; Proverbs 3:5-6)

For some reason these two verses have been resonating in my heart which usually means God is trying to teach or reveal something to me through his Word. In reading through these texts, one seemed to scream off the page at me…all. This word appears 5 times in these verses. What immediately comes to the forefront of my mind are the sounds of coaches and teachers saying, “just give it your all!” Never did I hear anyway tell me to just give it my “some.” So why choose the word all? Apparently it carries great weight and meaning. The best definition I could come up with is, “the greatest possible amount.” Substitute that definition with the verse about and that three-letter word quickly becomes very weighty. 

You shall love the LORD your God with the greatest possible amount of your heart and with the greatest possible amount of your soul and with the greatest possible amount of your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart…Trust in the LORD with the greatest possible amount of your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In the greatest possible amount of your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. 

That means anything less than “all” falls short of what is required for us as believers and is dishonoring to God. So what keeps us from giving our all in these areas? For me it’s pride, idolatry, lack of faith…etc. I’m constantly believing that I have the power and ability to make things work on my own and then give my heart, soul, might and ways to other things that aren’t God. I don’t know about you, but some things need to change for me. If “all” is the greatest possible amount, then there should be nothing left to give elsewhere. What will you give your “all” to?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

